"I am the vine, you are the branches.  Whoever remains in me and I in him will bear much fruit...." John 15:5
 
Picture



<
------------ RIGHT HERE  is the only clean and organized place in my house
!




It's been a fun but crazy Christmas break with my 5 big kids home from school. We have enjoyed playing new games from Santa, watching movies together, staying up too late, and traveling a gazillion miles to four different family Christmas celebrations.  It was a wonderful Christmas, but I am exhausted!

It's January 2nd, the kids are tired of being good, and the house is a mess.  Every nook and cranny of my house has crumbs or toys in it.  Baby Heath---no, he's not the baby anymore but the name stuck---sits atop the kitchen table, chucking everything in sight to the floor.  My living room is a giant pile of sofa cushions covered with blankets thanks to Maren, who loves building forts---why did Santa bring her new toys anyway?  Baskets of clean laundry have been taken upstairs but not put away.  The 4 loads of laundry I have done so far today are being (sort of) neatly stacked in piles on the laundry room floor since we are out of empty baskets.  Oh, and did I mention that the kids have asked me 546 times already for a cookie?  Well, except for Erica, who is recovering from the stomach flu.  One down, 10 to go on the puking.

Times like this, I take a deep breath and pause (well, more like stand and sway holding baby Brooks) in front of the big calendar hanging on my fridge.  It's kinda old school, but I like having our schedules right in front of me, color coded and neatly written, so I don't forget anything.  Do not touch this calendar without asking Mommy first.  Got it?

Today I had an overwhelming sense of calm wash over me as I focused on the newly filled out calendar.  It seemed so simple, but I could feel God telling me

  "Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you." John 14:27

The peaceful moment didn't last long, but I carried it in my heart the rest of the day.  
May we all feel God's peace today, even if only for a few moments!





Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Jaime, household engineer to 9 kids, an amazing husband, 2 fish, and a rainbow shark!

    Archives

    January 2014

    Categories

    All