"I am the vine, you are the branches.  Whoever remains in me and I in him will bear much fruit...." John 15:5
 
Yesterday we celebrated our spunky little Maren's 4th birthday.  Her birth was extra special because it was our first home birth.  I have so many wonderful memories of her birth! 

I was 41
weeks pregnant and definitely ready to meet our baby.  We sent the kids to bed at 8:00 pm with no sign of the baby coming.  Much to my surprise, contractions started at around 9:00, and a warm shower didn't stop them.  Ready or not, this baby was coming!

Before I knew it, my midwife was at our house.  It was a blur of breathing and changing positions to cope with the pain. 
At around 2:30 a.m. the next morning, out came a 9 lb. 3 oz. baby with the chubbiest cheeks I had ever seen!

All the kids and Grandma Cynti rushed in when they heard the baby's first cry.  I was still sitting on the birthing stool!  We all peeked and saw it was a girl!  The kids got to touch the umbilical cord that still connected their sister to me.  We sent them back downstairs so I could deliver the placenta.

Soon Erica (10 1/2), Kelsey (8 1/2), Drake (almost 7), Blaise (5 1/2), Britta (3 1/2), and Grandma Cynti holding Joel (15 months) all gathered on our bed.  We admired our new baby girl and
named her together.  Eve?  Eva?  Ivy?  Gianna?  Maren?  Maren Eve it was!  

We made the kids go back to bed to catch a few hours of sleep before school started.  Kelsey was shocked to see the placenta inside our big popcorn bowl.  As she left, she dramatically announced that she was NEVER eating popcorn out of that bowl again!

            "Lord, if you wish, you can make me clean." He
        stretched out his hand, touched him, and said,
        "I will do it.  Be made clean."  Matthew 8:2-3


Picture

Jesus, in His mercy, can make everyone and anything clean again.  Even popcorn bowls!




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Jaime, household engineer to 9 kids, an amazing husband, 2 fish, and a rainbow shark!

    Archives

    January 2014

    Categories

    All